Conceived and provided by
Alan Twigg, this reference site is
an adjunct to the BC BookLook
news service, sponsored by
Pacific BookWorld News Society.

Winners of the Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award

For a complete list of winners: Association of BC Publishers of BC

This award is presented at the discretion of the ABPBC board to recognize an active BC publisher that has earned the respect and applause of the community.

2019: Winner: Arsenal Pulp Press

2018 Winner: Orca Books (Andrew Wooldridge)

2017 Winner: Greystone Books (Rob Sanders)

2016 Winner: Talonbooks (Kevin Williams)
Talonbooks has been a model of Canadian literary publishing under legendary publisher Karl Siegler and has now successfully navigated an ownership transition to savvy businessman Kevin Williams without compromising Talon’s solid editorial integrity.

2015 Winner: Caitlin Press

2014 Winner: Ronsdale Press
Read about Ronsdale Press here.

2013 Winner: Anvil Press
Read about Anvil Press here.

2012 Winner: Diana Douglas, co-founder of Self-Counsel Press
Read about Diana Douglas here.

2011 Winner: New Star Books, Rolf Maurer
Read about New Star books here.

2010 Winner: No Award Presented.

2009 Winner: UBC Press, Peter MilroyRead about UBC Press here.

2008 Winner: The Heritage Group
Read about Rodger and Pat Touchie and
The Heritage Group Publishing Co.

2007 Winner:Arsenal Pulp Press
Read about Arsenal Pulp Press here.

2006 Winner: Orca Book Publishers
Read Bob Tyrrell’s Acceptance Speech

2005 Winner: No Award Presented

2004 Winner: Douglas & McIntyre
Read about Douglas & McIntyre here.

2003 Winner: New Society Publishers
Read about Chris Plant and Judith Plant

2002 Winner: Harbour Publishing
Read about Howard White and Harbour Publishing