Conceived and provided by
Alan Twigg, this reference site is
an adjunct to the BC BookLook
news service, sponsored by
Pacific BookWorld News Society.

Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize Winners

Arthur J.Ray

Arthur J.Ray

2017 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Arthur J. Ray: Aboriginal Rights Claims and the Making and Remaking of History (McGill-Queen’s 2016)

Shortlist: Caroline Fox: At Sea with the Marine Birds of the Raincoast (Rocky Mountain Books); Ronald W. Hawker: Yakuglas’ Legacy: The Art and Times of Charlie James (University of Toronto Press).


John Thistle

2016 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize Winner

Winner: John Thistle: Resettling the Range: Animals, Ecologies, and Human Communities in British Columbia (UBC Press).

Shortlist: Lisa Pasolli: Working Mothers and the Child Care Dilemma: A History of British Columbia’s Social Policy (UBC Press); Maria Tippett: Made in British Columbia: Eight Ways of Making Culture (Harbour).

Jean Barman

Jean Barman

2015 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Jean Barman: French Canadians, Fur, and Indigenous Women in the Making of the Pacific Northwest (UBC Press)

Shortlist: Nancy J. Turner: Ancient Pathways, Ancestral Knowledge: Ethnohistory and the Ecological Wisdom of Indigenous Peoples of Northwestern North America (McGill-Queen’s). Richard Beamish and Gordon Macfarlane, eds.: The Sea Among Us: the Amazing Strait of Georgia (Harbour).

David Stouck

David Stouck

2014 Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: David Stouck: Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life (Douglas & McIntyre).

Shortlist: Robin Kathleen Wright, Daina Augaitis, Robert Davidson, James Hart: Charles Edenshaw (Black Dog Publishing); Sean Kheraj: Inventing Stanley Park: An Environmental History (UBC Press).

Derek Hayes

Derek Hayes

2013 Inaugural Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize

Winner: Derek Hayes: British Columbia: A New Historical Atlas (Douglas & McIntyre).

Shortlist: Jim McDowell:Father August Brabant: Saviour or Scourge? (Ronsdale Press); Sandra Djwa: Journey with No Maps: A Life of P. K. Page (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

The Basil Stuart-Stubbs Prize for Outstanding Scholary Book Prize on British Columbia:

Dedicated to the memory of Basil Stuart-Stubbs, a University Librarian and scholar, the annual book prize recognizes outstanding scholarly books on British Columbia. Visit for more information.