Conceived and provided by
Alan Twigg, this reference site is
an adjunct to the BC BookLook
news service, sponsored by
Pacific BookWorld News Society.

BC National Non-Fiction Award

British Columbia’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction

The Award

The British Columbia National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction was launched in 2005 to honour Canada’s finest writers of non-fiction and to celebrate a genre that stimulates our national conversation and shares knowledge about the complex world in which we live.

The Award is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation that was established and endowed by the Province of BC in 2003 to celebrate excellence and achievement in the arts, humanities, enterprise, and community service.

The Criteria

The award recognizes and honours fine Canadian writing in the field of non-fiction. The genre includes essays, memoirs, criticism, history, literary journalism, and biography, among other forms. Submissions should be fact-based and book-length demonstrating a distinctive and persuasive command of style and technique in the telling of compelling stories, supported by research that provides the reader with a unique perspective. The finalists and winner will represent an important contribution to our national conversation.

The Prize

The winning author will receive $40,000 while the remaining finalists will each receive $2,500. The award is presented at a special ceremony in Vancouver, usually early in each calendar year.

The Jury

Assessments of entries are undertaken by an independent jury panel of experts in the field drawn from across Canada. The jury announces a long list in early November followed by a short list later that month. The jury’s decisions regarding eligibility, interpretation of the guidelines, long list and short list, and the winning author are final.

For further information, please contact:
British Columbia Achievement Foundation
t. 604-261-9777