Conceived and provided by
Alan Twigg, this reference site is
an adjunct to the BC BookLook
news service, sponsored by
Pacific BookWorld News Society.

Chocolate Lily Awards

The Chocolate Lily Young Reader’s Choice Awards is a non-profit program set up to encourage B.C. children to read and enjoy books written by authors who also live in B.C. The awards are chosen by reader’s choice. For the latest winners see Chocolate Lily Book Awards.

I want to go to the moon

Illustration by Cynthia Nugent from I Want to go to the Moon by Tom Saunders (Simply Read Books), winning picture book for 2013

11th Year:  2013
Chapter Book Winner: Ghosts of the Titanic by Julie Lawson; Scholastic
Picture Winner: I Want to go to the Moon by Tom Saunders & Cynthia Nugent, illustrator; Simply Read Books

10th Year:  2012
Novel Winner: Follow that Elephant by Beryl Young, Ronsdale Press
Chapter Book Winner: Black Dog, Dream Dog by Michelle Superle, Tradewind Books
Picture Winner: Stanley’s Little Sister by Linda Bailey, Kids Can Press

9th Year:  2011
Novel Winner: The Giant Slayer by Iain Lawrence, Delcorte Press
Chapter Book Winner: Zach & Zoe Bully and the Beagle by Kristin Butcher, James Lorimer
Picture Winner: Fred and Pete at the Beach by Cynthia Nugent, Orca Books

8th Year:  2010
Novel Winner: Meeting Miss 405 by Lois Peterson, Orca Books
Picture Winner: Penguin and the Cupcake by Ashley Spires, Simply Read Books

 7th Year:  2009
Novel Winner:  Honey Cake by Joan Betty Stuchner & Cynthia Nugent (illus), Tradewind Books
Picture Winner: Mechanimals by Chris Tougas, Orca Books

6th Year:  2008
Novel Winner: Chasing the Moon by Penny Chamberlain, Sono Nis Press
Picture Winner: Stanley’s Wild Ride by Linda Bailey & Bill Slavin (illus), Kids Can Press

5th Year:  2007
Novel Winner: The Vacation by Polly Horvath, Groundwood Books
Picture Winner: Puppies on Board by Sarah N. Harvey & Rose Cowles (illus), Orca Books

4th Year:  2006
Novel Winner: Zee’s Way by Kristin Butcher, Orca Books
Picture Winner: Drumheller Dinosaur Dance by Robert Heidbreder & Bill Slavin & E. Melo (illustrators), Kids Can Press

3rd Year:  2005
Novel Winner: All the Way to Mexico by Norma Charles, Raincoast Books
Picture Winner: Stanley’s Party by Linda Bailey & Bill Slavin (illus), Kids Can Press

2nd Year:  2004
Novel Winner: Flood by James Heneghan, Groundwood Books
Picture Winner: Cappuccina Goes to Town by Mary Ann Smith & Katie Smith Milway & Eugenie Fernandes (illus), Kids Can Press

1st Year:  2003
Novel Winner: Remember Me by Irene N. Watts, Tundra Books
Picture Winner: Ballerinas Don’t Wear Glasses by Ainslie Manson & Dean Griffiths (BC illustrator), Orca Books