Conceived and provided by
Alan Twigg, this reference site is
an adjunct to the BC BookLook
news service, sponsored by
Pacific BookWorld News Society.

Criteria & Instructions

Social Awareness:

In keeping with George Ryga’s status as a marginalized Ukrainian Canadian who was deeply concerned with justice, the judges will select an outstanding work of both literary and social value that opens up discussion of social and cultural issues.

B.C. Writer:

A B.C. writer is someone who has lived in British Columbia for three of the last five years.


A full-length book (not a chapbook) published during the preceding
calendar year. Self-published books are welcomed but ‘e-books’ not
otherwise available in B.C. bookstores and B.C. libraries are excluded.

Entry Fee & Deadline:

THERE ARE NO ENTRY FEES AND THERE ARE NO OBLIGATORY COSTS FOR PUBLISHERS OR WRITERS UPON BEING SHORTLISTED. Applicants are simply invited to send 3 (three) copies of the book for readers & judges.  Writers should arrange with their publishers to forward review copies to the award panel at the address listed below, prior to November 1st:

George Ryga Award
c/o BC BookWorld
926 West 15th Avenue,
Vancouver, B.C.
V5Z 1R9

Alan Twigg or David Lester

The winner of the George Ryga Prize receives free advertising for the winning book as well as $2,000 from B.C. BookWorld.  A public presentation ceremony at the Vancouver Public Library is also to be held in conjunction with the annual George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award. The shortlist and winner are announced in the late spring of each year, with press coverage in B.C. BookWorld’s Summer (June) issue.

Deadline for submissions is November 1 (unless discussed with organizers).